The myths series, published by Canongate

English, Press


Myths are universal and timeless stories that reflect and shape our lives — they explore our desires, our fears, our longings, and provide narratives that remind us what it means to be human.The Myths series brings together some of the world’s finest writers, each of whom has retold a myth in a contemporary and memorable way. Authors in the series include: Margaret Atwood, Karen Armstrong, AS Byatt, David Grossman, Milton Hatoum, Natsuo Kirino, Alexander McCall Smith, Tomás Eloy Martínez, Victor Pelevin, Ali Smith, Su Tong, Dubravka Ugresic, Salley Vickers and Jeanette Winterson.

The series launched on 21st October 2005 and is the most ambitious simultaneous worldwide publication ever undertaken.

Orphans of Eldorado

  • Author: Milton Hatoum
  • Published: February 2010
  • Original edition: 9781847673008
  • Mass market edition: 9781847672995 (Published in 2011)
  • ‘With his erudition and marshalling of historical detail. Hatoum compressed an epic into a novella.’ Times Literary Supplement 

    ‘Clear in each particular but tantalisingly elusive in its overall meaning, Orphans of Eldorado does what every good telling of a myth should.’ Financial Times

    The setting for this magical fable is Eldorado, the Enchanted city that inhabited the fevered dreams of European navigators and conquistadors, but eluded all attempts to find it on the map. Some have linked it to Manaus in the Amazon Basin, and it is here that Arminto Cordovil lives with his father Amando in a white mansion. Orphans of Eldorado is a rich and magical fable that beautifully captures the atmosphere of the steamy, lush Amazonian world.Milton HatoumBorn in Manaus in 1952, Milton Hatoum’s first novel, Tale of a Certain Orient, was published in 1989, followed by The Brothers in 2000. Both won the prestigious Jabuti Prize for best novel. Ashes of the Amazon (2005) was also awarded the Jabuti Prize, as well as the Portugal Telecom Prize for literature. 

    Deixe seu comentário...